<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	>

<channel>
	<title>UK Dedicated Server Hosting Provider Blog &#187; domain registry of america</title>
	<atom:link href="http://mantiscomputing.com/blog/tag/domain-registry-of-america/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://mantiscomputing.com/blog</link>
	<description>Uk Web Hosting, Domain Names, Web Design and Dedicated Servers Blog</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Wed, 17 Nov 2010 10:36:01 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=2.9.2</generator>
	<language>en</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
			<item>
		<title>Warning &#8211; The Domain Registry of America &#8211; They will try and trick you</title>
		<link>http://mantiscomputing.com/blog/2009/03/03/warning-the-domain-registry-of-america-they-will-try-and-trick-you/</link>
		<comments>http://mantiscomputing.com/blog/2009/03/03/warning-the-domain-registry-of-america-they-will-try-and-trick-you/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 03 Mar 2009 16:39:26 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>rkelley</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Domain Names]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[domain registry of america]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[slamming]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://mantiscomputing.com/blog/?p=83</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[If you own your own domain name then you need to be on your toes when it come to these guys. They are called  &#8217;The Domain Registry of America&#8217; or DROA.
Sooner or later you will receive, via the post (snail mail) a very convincing renewal reminder for your domain, regardless of where you domain is [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>If you own your own <a href="http://www.mantiscomputing.com/domain-names.html">domain name</a> then you need to be on your toes when it come to these guys. They are called  &#8217;The Domain Registry of America&#8217; or DROA.</p>
<p>Sooner or later you will receive, via the post (snail mail) a very convincing renewal reminder for your <a href="http://www.mantiscomputing.com/domain-names.html">domain</a>, regardless of where you domain is actually registered, they don&#8217;t care, they just want your money.<br />
On the bottom of this letter will be a payment slip suggesting that if you send them payment they will renew your domain, however/but - unless your domain is registered with the &#8216;Domain Registry of America&#8217; they cannot actually renew it, only your <a href="http://www.mantiscomputing.com/domain-names.html">current registrar</a> can do this, in this case they will request that the domain is transferred to them so they can renew it.</p>
<p>Court judgements have been served on DROA, read more <a href="http://www.theregister.co.uk/2004/01/06/court_bars_canadian_domain_slammer/" target="_blank">here</a> and <a href="http://www.synuk.com/droa/" target="_blank">here</a>, in fact if you <a href="http://www.google.co.uk/search?hl=en&amp;rlz=1T4GGLJ_en-GBGB311GB311&amp;q=domain+registery+of+america&amp;meta=" target="_blank">search google</a> you will find loads of complaints about this company and their &#8216;domain slamming&#8217; con.</p>
<p>If you do get a renewal letter from DROA, recyle it, d<strong>o not pay them anything</strong> else you risk loosing your domain.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://mantiscomputing.com/blog/2009/03/03/warning-the-domain-registry-of-america-they-will-try-and-trick-you/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
	</channel>
</rss>

